This comes up often enough that I thought I would make a page for it.  Unfortunately, Google changes these things so often that you may see slight variations in your experience, but hopefully, it is close, and I will try to update this from time to time to get it as close as possible.  So let’s get straight to it.

Granting/Removing Access to Google Analytics

GA4 SettingsOften when someone is helping you with reports, analysis, or even technical help for your website, it becomes important for them to see your Google Analytics data.  Or sometimes, when you no longer have a relationship with a consultant or anyone who has access to your Analytics, you want to remove access. Below are some basic screenshots to get you there.

  • First, get to your analytics account, at analytics.google.com – you will need to log in with the Google account which already has access to your Google Analytics 4 property.
  • Once into the Google Analytics 4 (GA4) interface, you will want to find the settings gear in the lower left of the screen.
  • You can then click to go in there.
  • Once you click, a number of options will pop up.
  • You will choose “Account Access Management”

  • This will bring up a list of people or entities that have access to your account.  Sometimes you will give tools that you use access, so you may see some things like that in there.
  • REMOVING ACCESS: If you recognize anyone in there that you don’t want to have access anymore, simply click on the three dots to the far right of their name, and then choose “Remove Access”.

GA4 Removing Access

  • ADDING ACCESS: To add someone, from the same “Account Access Management” screen, you click the blue circle with the + in it in the upper right.
  • Click “Add Users”Add GA4 Users
  • Then you will see a screen pop up that asks you what level of access to give them.
  • Add their email address to the space provided, choose the access level you want to give them based on what they are doing, and then hit “Add”

GA4 Choose Access and Add

Granting/Removing Access to Google Business Profiles

If you have people in your organization or marketing companies that are helping you with Google Business work like local SEO or posting and editing your Google Business information, you will need to give them access to your profile.  You also may want to remove their access when you are no longer working with them. See below for some step-by-step help on adding or removing access to your Google Business Profile.

  • Go to your Google Business listing. Get there by typing business.google.com . You need to log in to Google with the account that owns the business listing. You will find that for some, you can also easily access this information by typing your business name and town into Google search. Google allows you to do this stuff directly from the search results these days, as long as you are logged in with the right account.

GBP Click Three Dots Access

  • Click on the three dots and then choose “Business Profile Settings”

Choose Business Profile Settings

  • Choose “People and Access” from the choices that pop up.

GBP People and Access

  • From here, you can remove/edit or add users.
    • REMOVE ACCESS: Click on the arrow to the right of the user name and you can then either remove or edit their access level.

GBP Remove or Edit User

    • ADD USER ACCESS: Click the “Add” in blue to add a user

GBP Add User

      • Add the User’s email, choose the level of access, and then invite them.

GBP Invite